Our new baby!

Acorn sprout

There’s been an addition around here

You’re probably thinking…”Don’t they have enough babies around that place?”

Well actually as far as I’m concerned there canNOT be enough babies. EVER.

But this is not a human baby. And it’s not of the bovine persuasion.

Not even the dogs.

No. This is special!

Remember the Burr Oak acorns that I watched over last fall?  And snatched them from deer and our lone squirrel. And then hoarded them, giving them a cool down in my fridge for some 1000 hours.

I dug them out of the back of the fridge about a month ago and carefully placed each one in a pot, nestling them down in some seeding medium.  After that, some were set under a glass dome following a thorough watering.

I checked them daily.  Ok. More than daily.  Call me impatient.

I was just about to give up all hope.  My experiment looked to be a giant flop. Everything had been done by the book.  The acorns were even prayed for.

Finally, last week I saw a little white wormy looking thing in the first pot that was planted! Gently moving the soil around, I discovered that it was a baby oak tree!!!  Weepy glees!!!!

I’ve moved him to a south window and am rotating him each morning. And guess what? He’s getting color….reddish/green and little divisions at the top of my baby are showing now.
burr oak sprout closeup
The below pic is Baby 6 days after he poked his head out of the dirt.

Baby Oak

I am beyond excited and can’t wait to show the grands!  They are going to love this.

In the meantime, we may have to have a special prayer meeting or a laying on of hands on the remaining acorns.

This entry was posted in farm and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Our new baby!

  1. Ann Beadel says:

    I am envious!

    Like

  2. Connie says:

    I the work but oaks, one Granny Smith apple, one avacado, one lemon, and one cherry tree that I am babying. Just thankful diapers are not involved!

    Like

  3. Connie Deen Hart says:

    OOOOPs! Should have said “I have”.

    Like

  4. Ann Edgar says:

    Congrats, GRANDMA, hope you have more babies!

    Like

  5. Congratulations on the birth of your new baby! 😀

    Like

  6. Kitty says:

    Ohhhhh, I am so proud for you. Congratulations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

