As the Wind Blows

OK everyone who is now humming the theme to “As the World Turns”, raise your hand!!

It’s been brutal all day.  The weather crew says less wind tomorrow.  We’ll see.

In the meantime, I’ve spent the day cleaning out more cabinets.  Which I hadn’t planned on doing.  My plan was…to get started on a birthday cake for this weekend.  However, while hunting fondant, colors, gumpaste, etc., I ended up cleaning out a lot of junk.  Yep, there’s the Pack Rat Syndrome again.

Once I got things tidy, it was time to get serious.  The theme this go around was a Native American tipi…to go with the birthday girl’s request for the American Girl doll, Kaya.  I decided to  use as inspiration The Legend of the Bluebonnet by Tomie de Paola, one of my favorite children’s books!

image

image

I had also seen a campfire cake that caught my attention.  It used the same hard candy approach that the Frozen cakes used, only not from scratch but used wrapped red and yellow candies, of which I had none.

image

So I was off to town to locate candy with my sister-in-law and a friend.  They loaded me up and all I had to do  was crush it and melt it.

More tomorrow…

This entry was posted in cakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to As the Wind Blows

  1. Andrea says:

    So awesome! 😀 The fire is just too cool!

    Like

Leave a Reply

