Fried Chicken…the new and healthy way! Really!

image

Yummm! Pecan Chicken cozying up to Squash Casserole, straight from the garden.

Don’t you just love Pinterest?  I check it at night right before I shut my eyes and after devotions. I found this wonderful recipe for chicken last week….

That is coated in a mixture of all sorts of wonderful herbs and spices AND PECANS!!!

That is soaked in buttermilk.

That is fried in olive oil.

Seriously. Olive oil + frying.

I’ve used it to sauté and stir fry, but no frying.

The trick is to keep the temp down. Way down.

I’ll just give you the recipe so you can see for yourself.

Pecan Crusted Fried Chicken

adapted from “Good Dinner Mom

 6 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves, cut into tenders or strips ( I had 3 so I made do…also, the thickness of your strips will determine how fast the meat will cook. And the more strips you have, the more yummy batter that surrounds them!)

1½ cups buttermilk (didn’t measure it, I just dumped some in to cover it)

2 cups pecans (the first time around, I’d use just 1 cup…in case you don’t like it.  Can’t waste those precious pecans!!)

1⅓ cups flour (you can add more as you go and I think you will need it…this amount wasn’t enough for 3 breasts and I had to add a little for them)

1½ teaspoons salt

½ teaspoon garlic powder

½ teaspoon paprika (don’t freak if you don’t have this…not entirely necessary)

½ teaspoon ground black pepper

½ teaspoon dried oregano

½ teaspoon driedthyme

¼ teaspoon onion powder (No onion powder around here so I used some onion salt.)

¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper

Olive oil for frying (I used half olive oil, half canola oil.)

Note: The next time I fix this, I’m adding rosemary instead of  oregano.

 

 image
  1. Place chicken pieces in a bowl, cover with the buttermilk and marinade for 30 minutes at room temperature.
  2. In a food processor, pulse the pecans, flour and all seasonings until the nuts are roughly chopped. (Be sure to get the pecans crushed small enough. If it’s too coarse the pecans won’t cling to the meat. I could have chopped mine up a bit finer if you look at the photos.)
  3. Transfer the pecan mixture to a bowl and, one at a time, coat the chicken pieces thoroughly.
  4. Set the coated pieces on a baking sheet, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes. (I’m wondering if at this point, you could freeze them to fry up later??)
  5. Fill a cast-iron skillet halfway with olive oil and heat over medium-high heat until hot but not smoking. ( I used my 5 1/2 qt. Le Creuset French oven and my burner was on 6-7. Don’t walk away from this…watch it carefully to make sure your olive oil isn’t too hot. Pecans scorch easily so be careful. Also, I fried 3 pieces at a time and had about 2 1/2″ of oil in the pot. I also covered the pot while frying the first side and took it off for the second side to ensure that the meat cooked thoroughly.)
  6. Cook the chicken 2 to 3 minutes per side, or until dark golden. (This will vary depending on how thick you cut the chicken strips)
  7. Drain the chicken on paper towels and serve hot.

Let me know what you think!  We loved this.  It was quick and super delicious!!!

 

 

This entry was posted in farm, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fried Chicken…the new and healthy way! Really!

  1. chmjr2 says:

    I’m hungry!

    Like

Leave a Reply

