Mondays aka A Fresh Start

 

Yeah, I know it’s not Monday.  Not sure where it went but…

Unlike most folks, I enjoy Mondays!!

It’s like a whole new year, except it’s a whole new week. A clean slate.  A world of possibilities.

And…a new LIST!!

Being the Grand Czarina of List Makers, I have my handy dandy tablet…actually several of them and pen at the ready. Ideas have been buzzing around in my mind for hours now. (Not a lie…couldn’t sleep so praying and thinking were my options!)

So since the porch lights are now sparkly AND the antique brass light in the dining room is polished, all dirt dobber nests are deleted and the east side of the house (also the front porch) have been power washed, grass is mowed and trimmed, weeds sprayed, weeds pulled…I can march forward.

Or not.  All of the apples are now picked, washed, cored, cut up and in freezer bags.  Sounds like I’m done, right? If only.  With 2 tons of apples in the two freezers, there is no room in the inn for tomatoes, okra, beef.  Gotta fix that.

Right after I get lunches made for the silage crew!  Yep, we’re still cutting.  A couple of rains (Thank you Lord for rain!!) slowed us down, but today, we are back up and going.

So that means I had better figure out a strategy…and YES, I have one! *smirk*

Strategy=more. apple. butter. Oh yay!

What? I haven’t posted the recipe?

No problem.  I give you the recipe I found many years ago in my now tattered Kerr canning book. In fact, when I pick up the book (carefully), all on its own, it falls open to the Apple Butter recipe!  Although it’s horribly splattered, I can still read it.  Ok, with my glasses on helps a lot.
image

Nope. I wasn’t kidding.

Apple Butter

16 cups thick apple pulp

1 cup vinegar

8 cups sugar

4 teaspoons

Core and slice apples but do NOT peel.  (That’s good news, right?) You can use one of those apple corer thingys that cores AND slices the apple as you push it down on the apple. Be sure to cut out any bad spots, BTW.

 

This where I veer from the original recipe….

Using my Magnalite Dutch oven, I know it going to take about 2 batches of cooked apples to get to the required 16 cups of apple pulp. Once the apples are sliced, I pile them into a large, heavy Dutch oven with maybe 1-2 cups of water.

 

Put the lid on and place on medium heat. Once the apples begin to boil, turn the heat down to simmer for about 15-20 minutes. Stir often.

image

Turn heat off once the apples are soft and with a slotted spoon, lift out the apples while draining as much liquid as possible and place in food processor. (The Kerr book says press through a sieve. Which takes FOREVER. If you have an extra week, go for it.) Process for 30 seconds or so, pour into heat-proof measuring cup…I use my 8 cup Pampered Chef pitcher/batter bowl.

image

Repeat all of this until you have 16 cups of squished up apples and peels aka “apple pulp”. In a very large Dutch oven, combine apples, vinegar, cinnamon and sugar.  Over medium low heat, bring mixture to a low boil, stirring constantly. Place the Dutch oven in a heated 225º oven ….with lid off.

Walk away.  Do the wash. Clean windows. Read a novel. Go to bed. Give it 6-8 hours.  I like to do this part at night so the oven doesn’t heat up the house too much.  Then I pour up the hot apple butter the next morning in hot, sterilized canning jars. And wait for them to seal.  If a jar doesn’t seal, slap it into the fridge to be eaten first!!

Or…you can do it the slow, slow way and stand over the Dutch oven for 4 hours or so, stirring often over low heat.

I didn’t think so.  The crockpot method is ok but still slow and the apple butter wants to pop out during the process all over the countertop.

And…I have a new recipe to try that I found in the September edition of “Southern Living”. I’ll let you know how it turns out. 🙂

 

 

This entry was posted in farm, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mondays aka A Fresh Start

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Thank you for sharing have a blessed day

    Like

Leave a Reply

