Kindle. Book. Kindle. Book. ???

A while back, I made one of the biggest decisions of my life.  It was decision that didn’t come easily.  I researched.  I pondered.  I asked for opinions. What to do. What to do.  I felt somehow that if I decided to pursue one path, I would be denying everything that the past….uhh, quite a few years had taught me.  How could I turn my back on order, beauty and nay, can I say, aesthetic qualities?  On one hand, I could continue down the path of comfort.  Yes, I was comfortable but the temptations of the other path were so great.  Who could turn their back on the sleek, new Object of My Desire?  Speed was its banner.  Ease was its middle name.

One of my many copies of “Little Women”…one can never have too many copies!

I faced the question of to Kindle or not to Kindle like so many of you.  I’m not sure who won.  Actually, neither physical books or the Kindle won, because,  in some cases, I must have both!  But I can justify such unthriftiness because I can lend out Kindle books.  Same with the book in my hand.  And if I chose to do so, I can resell the book, give it as a birthday gift (they will NEVER know I read it first, right?! And technically, could that be classified as regifting?)  I may, with time, slide out of this No Man’s Land of indecision, but for now and for some books, I must have both.

oops. How did that get in here?!!!

THIS is the one I meant to insert. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Cornwell’s latest

So, the best part of this whole deal is…I can order books and in about 30 seconds…yeah, you heard that right!  In SECONDS, I have an entire book in my hands…without having to drive at least 40 miles to hunt it down at the bookstore that probably doesn’t have it anyway.  So that’s just what I did.  I had been waiting for Bernard Cornwell’s  Death of Kings…the sixth in his Saxon Series.

Oh joy, joy, joy!!  As soon as Amazon had the book in cyberspace, I zapped it into my little Cloud!  This, people, is The Best of the good side of today’s technology!!!  I finished the book last night, so I’m here to review the book for you.

GET IT!  Is that clear enough?  This book is part of the Saxon series and not my usual genre…more appealling to men.  How did a Jane Austen fan ever get hooked on this in the first place, you might wonder?  Well, I’ll tell you.

My first Cornwell book, which meant I had to go back and read #1 and #2, then #4 and #5!

I stumbled on to a fan base that has, as of right now, a kazillion blog sites.  (How I found this bunch is another story in itself but I can say, “Thank you Jane Austen.”)  I kept hearing these folks rave about an audio book called, Lords of the North, by Bernard Cornwell.  They told me that the reader, Richard Armitage, was beyond excellent and the story was made for the cinema.  OK, so I ordered it.  The audio book. All the way from the UK.  It took about 6 weeks to get here but when it did arrive, I sat down and started listening.  “They” were right.  What a voice!  I was hooked.  The storyline was compelling and I adore historical novels, so 6 books later, I had read them all. And have them all in Real Book form with The Death of Kings residing in my Kindle, along with Rick Bragg’s books.  And O’Reilly’s Killing Lincoln, Beck’s Being Washington, Alcott’s Little Women, Bill Bennet’s The Book of Man….

Where does this all end, you might be wondering?  Heck if I know. It’s just so bloomin’ easy to order the Kindle books.  And fast. And cheaper.  I just know that in a couple of weeks, a friend’s historical fiction book will hit cyberspace and will land firmly and quickly in to my personal Cloud where I will immediately sit down and devour it. I can say I was there when Gisborne: Book of Pawns was in its infancy. This is one that I’ll have to have the actual book in my greedy hands too, though.  Can’t be helped.  I mean, we’re talking Guy of Gisborne here.  Hands down.  I must have it!  Somebody slap me….

UPDATE: Since I wrote this a couple of years ago, I thought I’d better make a confession…I now have not only a Kindle, but Cloud Reader on my iPad and my iPhone. Sick isn’t it?. My library as also expanded. Yeah. I’m a junkie. ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Entertainment, My One Weakness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kindle. Book. Kindle. Book. ???

  1. PM says:

    “What a voice!” doesn’t begin to describe it. Then there is the face, the beard, the hair, the build and don’t forget, the feet! Maybe “What a man!” oh, I forgot, you are talking about the audiobook, not the reader. Sorry.

    Like

  2. prue batten says:

    As an author, I think your the bees’ knees. As just a plain old farming’ gal, I think you’re great! Thank you for thinking of Gizzy! I’m as excited as you!!!!

    Like

  3. chmjr2 says:

    I have and like my Kindle. The only draw back for me is when I read biographies or histories is looking up the source notes in the back of the book. It is much easier to do with a book in hand. Also I think the prices are still too high for new books on any e reader. You can buy a used book most of the time for 50% of the cost on Kindle. That all being said it does make the storage of books much easier.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Yep, easier and really, really convenient while traveling! Lots of books all tucked away in my bag. Love that part. But still…some books just must be held in the hand and have real pages to turn!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

