Shadows of the Summer

It smells like fall.

It is beginning to look like autumn.

image

My Washington Hawthorne is ablaze!

 

Harvest is almost over…also wheat planting.

image

Babysitting the farmer way

image

 

image

This girl adores running the combine with her daddy!

The last blooms of my rose bushes are hanging on.

And would you believe it?!!  My bluebonnets and my red bluebonnets are STILL blooming!!!  Outstanding!

image

 

imageThe white stock seed…yes, I had ONE…from Monticello…yess, the Thomas Jefferson home…has grown, and grown and is HUGE. Plus it is blooming. Finally!!  No idea why it took so long, but it was worth the wait!  The aroma is heavenly.

image

After babying my Jefferson matthiola incana (white stock) all summer, it’s FINALLY blooming!!

Also, the burr oak acorns are humongous and numerous!

image

As are the pecans!!!  Yay me!!

A cluster of THREE!!!!

A cluster of THREE!!!!

 

 

This entry was posted in farm and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shadows of the Summer

  1. heartfelt4 says:

    Lovely Photos, Debbie! You have a way of capturing the essence of autumn! Hey, what ever happened to the acorn you harvested last year? Do you have a oak sapling growing from it?

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      I do!!! 7 to be exact! We have holes dug and are ready for a fall planting. Looks like this year’s acorn crop will give us more!!!??? And thanks! I am SO behind on blogging!

      Like

  2. Kitty says:

    Love your burr oak acorns. They make me think of Hubby’s cousin, Jerry. Heee tahwlks sooo slllowww (his isn’t slow witted, though). He told me once of how, when he was growing up (he recently celebrated his 74th b-day), his mama would let him paint everything he could find in nature with gold paint to hang on their Christmas tree. He especially liked to find “cheenie burries” (china berries), only he says it so much more slowly. I think he would have liked your acorns.

    Don’t you just love autumn!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      As a kid, acorns were important toys. Very important. And then I got older and abandoned my beloved acorns and then moved away from all known acorns. To have them in my front yard is exquisite!!! I LOVE AUTUMN!!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

