Decadent Fried Pecan Pies

All news coming in from Texas is….”The pecans are ready!!!!!”  They are coming in from the orchards by the bushels…or tow sack.  It’s an all hands on deck situation and the race is on to get the pecans before the critters do. I have always loved pecan threshing time!  It was The Only Time I would stoop to eat a bologna sandwich.  Hated the stuff. But man, a bologna sandwich and a Coke  in the back of a pickup in the middle of the pecan orchard….GOOD EATINS!! imageThus, today’s post.  I found a Fried Pecan Pie recipe a while back and tried it, with a few changes.  It was very good but made me wonder, “Why in the heck would you put all of that yumminess into a bought pie dough, with apologies to Mrs. Pillsbury?!” So I tweaked the filling a bit and then slapped some of it into my from scratch pie dough, and the result was wondrous! Are you drooling yet? IF you need quality pecans for this recipe and all those others you conjure up during the holidays, may I suggest Millican Pecan Company out of San Saba, Texas.  You can order online or stop by for a visit if you’re in their neck of the woods!  I’ve visited their orchards and this is THE place to get your pecans! And then I got to thinking, “What if….?”  So expect some more pecan pie filling variations in the not so distant future! In the meantime, here’s what I came up with… image

Fried Pecan Caramel Pie

1 cup light brown sugar 1/2 cup light corn syrup (dark works too and I’m considering trying maple syrup) 2 large eggs 4-6 tablespoons butter Pinch of salt 2 cups chopped roasted pecans  (chop the pecans coarsely, by hand, like into quarters) 1 teaspoon vanilla (the real stuff) In a medium saucepan, combine the sugar, syrup, eggs, butter and salt, bring the ingredients to a low boil over a medium heat and stirring constantly to avoid scorching the bottom of the pan.  Once it boils, reduce heat to low and cook for about 7-8 minutes, still stirring constantly.   imageTake pan off heat and stir in vanilla and pecans.  Cool and refrigerate, covered. If this sets up like it should, you’ll have a candy-like filling that you can roll into a ball.   When you’re ready to start frying, cut the dough into 5-6″ circles on which you will use about 2 Tablespoons of filling each….the more, the better!  Just be sure you don’t have filling oozing out when you seal them.  You should be able to scoop out the filling and form it into sort of a log, which will make it easier to seal the dough. If you need details from this point on, I refer you to THIS post for putting the pies together and THIS post for the dough recipe. Fry in 350º oil that is about 1″ deep in a heavy pot for about 1-2 minutes on each side and drain on paper towels. Dredge in powdered sugar or granulated sugar  OR brush with a mixture of powdered sugar, milk and vanilla. And, as always, eat these jewels as soon as they cool down. Or reheat in the oven or the microwave. And coffee. You’ll need coffee!!!  You. Are. Welcome!!!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Decadent Fried Pecan Pies

  1. Donna says:

    Man Deb, you are killing me here. Sounds great but not supposed to eat it!! Oh well, since when do I do what I am supposed to do, right?

    Like

  2. heartfelt4 says:

    Droool! I can almost taste and smell them from your pic! *sigh* They look like apple fritters 😛

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Ahhh apple fritters. I have an old tried-and-true recipe for those too. In fact, I told an old friend the other day I’d make some in honor of her birthday…she lives a good ways from here so dropping some off is out of the question….

      Like

  3. Mary Beth Drennan says:

    Going to have to try this. Ed and Joan Poehls are bringing me fresh pecans tonight! I really shouldn’t be eating this, but sounds delicious! Sure do miss you, my friend!!! MB

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Would you believe I talked to Ed yesterday!! Didn’t sound like the pecan crop in his neck of the woods was going to be too plentiful. Enjoy! I may have to get mine from the Brownwood orchards this year…or San Saba! Miss you too!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

