Fresh Apple Pie via Home Canned Apple Pie Filling

image

I did a post a few weeks ago on how to make your own canned apple pie filling.  Once the jars cooled and sealed, I stacked them neatly into my pantry.  Two quart jars didn’t seal, so I stuck those jars into the fridge with a promise to do something with them soon.

Two weeks later, I decided it was time to do something.  So I dug out my aunt’s Never Fail Pie Crust recipe and try out the apple filling.

The filling looked a little clumpy but when I poured it out of the jar into the pie crust, it sort of “came together”?? I sprinkled some cinnamon over it, cut 4  pats of butter to top it off and put the top crust on. Then the whole pie went onto a pizza pan…to catch any drippings during the baking process.

image

The pie went into a 350º oven for about 45 minutes.  Long. Minutes.

Once the pie cooled enough to cut, I sampled it.

And. It. Was. Scrumptuous!!!!!!

Yay!!  How easy was that?!!  Now to make another 10 gallons of filling and empty out almost a whole freezer of apples!!!  Oy vey.

The good news is…Big Boss gets to come home to apple pie after…wait for it…can you guess????  Basketball. Practice. Jr. High. Boys.

It begins again.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in farm, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fresh Apple Pie via Home Canned Apple Pie Filling

  1. heartfelt4 says:

    You do this to me every time! Now I’m starving…for apple pie…not good for the diet, my friend. *sigh*

    😉

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      I know. I know. Big Boss said the exact same thing. But I had to try it out, don’t you see?!!! I mean, I have a responsibility to test these things. Somebody has to do it. 🙂

      Like

  2. phylly3 says:

    Big Boss is a very lucky man!

    Like

Leave a Reply

