Soul Windows for Christmas

Thank you Carol for this quote!!!

“People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.”  Elizabeth Kubler Ross

Back a few posts HERE, stained glass windows came up.  Remember the church windows that my DiL found? Well, they were stashed, apparently, by my Mother-in-Law years ago.  I found that amazing because “old” stuff held NO interest for her whatsoever.

When I would proudly show her my latest “junk”, she’d shake her head and say, “Why do you want that junk?!!  I grew up with it and I don’t want to see it now!”.

What?! I grew up with my dolls and I still love them!  And just think…someone, maybe even someone you knew or heard about through family tales used that old dresser every day. Or maybe they built that chest over 100 years ago.  Or maybe…

Eventually, I accepted that I was the weird one. But she (or my Father-in-Law talked her into keeping them?!!) tucked them away for safe-keeping.

For now, one window is residing in a stained glass shop, awaiting pane replacement and a panel of colored glass. I can’t wait to see it. It will probably end up in the church where it originated. Well, it’s the same church body but a new sanctuary built next to the original which is now our Fellowship Hall. I’m not exactly sure “where” the window is going but the goal is to get it back in church.

image

from the Adventures of the TartanScot blog, photo by Shirley Stankus, North Carolina.

Then one window needs some tender loving care and since I’m all thumbs in the repair department, I’m hoping to talk a local craftsman into handling that chore. Then DiL will decide what the next step will be.

The third window is The Experiment! But…I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. My inspiration was found on Pinterest a good while back.

Having done some window painting in the past, I grabbed my Hobby Lobby window paints, drew up my design and conjured up this.

image

After cleaning off 40 years worth of dust, liquid leading was applied on the smooth side of the glass.

image

After the “leading” dries, colored window paint is squeezed into the appropriate space. The paint goes on “milky” and will dry transparent.

 

image

After lots of measuring, the 2 side panels are ready for paint!

image

I may add more color…not sure. But I love the mini lights behind it. May look for tube lights tho and try them.

OK I added more color.  You knew I would.  I just can’t help myself.  🙂

image
To date, I have rearranged, added to, taken away 49 times. At least. As of now…I quit!!

IMG_1236 2014 mantel

image

image

This entry was posted in Art, holidays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Soul Windows for Christmas

  1. Ann Edgar says:

    You have outdone yourself, ole girl! The mantel is beautiful.,

    Like

  2. Kitty says:

    Beautiful! Have you done Beth Moore’s A Woman’s Heart, God’s Dwelling Place? Your nativity reminds me of a particular chapter.

    Like

  3. heartfelt4 says:

    Your mantle looks lovely, Debbie! Love the window and nativity. So peaceful!

    Like

  4. Melinda Strickland says:

    The mantle and window are beautiful. You really should try doing some real stained glass sometime. As artistically talented and creative as you are, you would be creating your own patterns very soon. I’ve only done one piece so far, but I WILL get back to it sometime.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      I have LOTS of ideas…no idea how to implement them other than to pass them off to friends like you and Carol!! She’s a high school friend who has offered to “stain glass” the window that’s waiting to be repaired. But thanks…and I want to see your piece!!!?

      Like

Leave a Reply

