Not Frozen, yet frozen

Snowglobe girl cakeToday is The Day!  Granddaughter #3 becomes the magical age of seven.  We have gone from this….

IMGP5046

to this…

IMG_1073

She wanted a Frozen cake last year.

image

This year, she requested something with a snowman and snowflakes. Still frozen, but not with the Disney flourish.

After perusing hundreds of fabulous cakes, I combined about 8 of them with a splash of Meemaw.

Snowgirl snowglobe snowflake

Because Birthday Girl’s mom and I decided on an 8″…considerably smaller than last year’s production because that served about 100 and we did not want leftover cake wasting away through the month… my media was reduced to a really manageable size, therefore giving me more time to play ! After all, playing is the name of the game!

The snowglobe idea appeared in a Taste of Home magazine several years ago so I had tucked it away in my Favorites and then onto my Pinterest board.

image

Birthday Girl is a Fancy Nancy type so many glittered snowflakes were created…and many weren’t used.  I forgot that smaller cakes also call for fewer elements.  Duh. That said, if any of you locals need snowflakes, just call me. Believe me when I say that blizzard hit my kitchen.

So, we, once again, have icy, snowy landscapes inside and outside.  The next kid had better chose a Day at the Beach cake!!!

This entry was posted in cakes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Not Frozen, yet frozen

  1. Dianne says:

    What a beautiful cake! I like this one even better than last year’s.

    Like

  2. Kitty says:

    One can never go wrong w/ a splash of MeMaw! Beautiful and creative. My birthday is next month but we’ll be in Nicaragua. I send you the address so you’ll know where to send my cake. 😉

    Like

  3. Carol D says:

    Gorgeous cake, Debbie. Your grandchildren are fortunate indeed.

    Like

  4. Fancy Nancy says:

    Soooo pretty! My grandson had a Olaf cake last month that was pretty cute, but I wished for my friend from Kansas to be nearby to make it instead! Yes, your grands are lucky to have a MeMaw so close with cake decorating talents! 🙂

    Like

  5. The Queen says:

    Good grief. And your’s in Dec. too!! There are possibilities tho…

    Like

Leave a Reply

