Stone Barn’s Forgotten Past

I made a fast trip to Texas a couple of weeks ago, hoping against all odds that I might see just one bluebonnet.  No such luck. Way too early.  I knew that but just hoped to see one. After all, my Austin correspondent had reported one blooming in that area.

Well, I did see bluebonnet plants…little teensy, shivering plants that were waiting on some sunshine.   Welcome to the club!  🙂 But…according to an Austin’s KEYE Facebook page, they are now BLOOMING!. Which means I  get to wait (again) till I can get back down there and pray they’re still blooming.  Sigh.

Photo courtesy of KEYE, Austin, Texas

Photo courtesy of KEYE, Austin, Texas

There were fall rains to help the bluebonnets germinate and grow.  There have been rains this spring to push them into hyper-action.  But you/I must be patient.

So… I turned my camera to other places and subjects for this particular trip.  Old buildings/ruins/restorations…to begin with, an old building that was just down the road from my parents home.  One that I remember going to for garden vegetables but had completely forgotten about it!  One that is completely hidden from the world.  One that is next door to a mall.  Really.  Not kidding.  It’s completely hidden by a virtual forest of mesquite trees and live oaks, not to mention prickly pear cactus.  And probably snakes.  Enough said.

A man named Trewis Elmer Pelts lived there pretty much all of his life.  Research shows that he served in WWII, so it’s possible that’s the longest period that he was away from his childhood home.  My mother remembered bits and pieces as we talked about him and his home and as I worked on researching his name on Ancestry, more and more came back to her…how he never married and took care of his parents until their deaths…how he faithfully served our church for years…how he grew the most amazing vegetables every year and how people would line up in their cars to get his world-famous sweet corn….how my grandmother, fresh out of chemo treatments in Houston, went with my mother to get some of that corn, at the break of day because if you didn’t get there early, it would be gone!!  But, his most renowned crop may have been cabbage…lots and lots of cabbage.  And he charged next to nothing for his produce. Literally.

I’m sure there are Brownwood residents who know much more about Mr. Pelts and his home…I’m actually hoping that some will read this and share because there seems to be many stories/legends/tales about the Pelts barn.

Pelts FarmBrownwood

Pelts Barn 2

Pelts Barn Bwood Live Oak Farm

See the stone sign above the entrance? “Live Oak Farm”

It’s made of stone and is said to have quite a colorful history before the Pelts’ made the place their home and I don’t remember ever noticing it.  As a kid, I’m pretty sure that when we went there,  I couldn’t wait to go home.  Who cares about an old barn and house?  Well, I do. Now.

Mother said there were rumors of Indian attacks and the barn was used as a makeshift  fort, thus the narrow windows on the side of the barn.  That’s the only story that she knew of and thought might have some validity?

Nevertheless, it’s an interesting barn.

Later, I visited another old fort. Details tomorrow. 🙂

This entry was posted in Boomers' Corner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Stone Barn’s Forgotten Past

  1. I love old barns. History just flows from them and gets your mind just buzzing with curiosity of the things that took place there. Nice story.
    Debra

    Like

  2. Theresa says:

    I also remember the sweet cantaloupes and the black eyed peas from the Pelts’ garden. I think my mother used to buy tomato and pepper plants from them to put in our garden.

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Mother says he was one of the best gardeners she ever knew. And like your mom, she knew a lot and was one of them!! For the life of me, I can’t remember that barn but it’s been there a long time? I’m betting somewhere in that barn are some dates…

      Like

  3. Ann Edgar says:

    Love old barns, awesome pictures! Are we kin, do you think?

    Like

  4. Becky Willey says:

    And You came to Texas and didn’t let Suzy & I know???? Thought we were going to get together next time. 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

