Fresh Orange Cake Heaven, here we come! Take 2

image

Update note:  I posted this recipe a while back.  It’s audience keeps growing and growing so here we go again.

As promised…a recipe.  A cake recipe.  An old family favorite. Next to a Lemon Meringue pie, this could be my favorite dessert.  Besides peach cobbler. Or that great chocolate cake with the cooked frosting…

But I digress. I’m giving you two choices for the cake recipe…one from scratch and one from almost scratch, involving a cake mix.  Either one works because it’s really the filling that counts!  I use the filling on plain cakes that are to be decorated.  It and the strawberry filling are the most requested cake fillings.

So here ya go. And you’re welcome.  I know you’re gonna love this one.

Yellow Satin Cake

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup softened butter

1/4 cup orange juice

3/4 cup water

4 egg whites

2 1/2 cups flour ( I like cake flour for this recipe…makes lighter cake)

2 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon orange rind

1/2 cup sugar

Mix 1 cup sugar, butter and orange rind and beat till fluffy.  Sift flour, baking powder, salt and soda.  Add alternately in 4 additions with orange juice and water.

Beat egg whites until frothy.  Gradually beat in 1/2 cup sugar. Beat until stiff.

Fold in the cake batter carefully.

Pour into 3 greased, floured and lined 9″ cake pans. (If you don’t have parchment paper, use waxed paper.  Set your pan on 3 thicknesses of paper, draw around the pan with a Sharpie and cut on the inside of line. Using paper liners has saved my sanity.  I fought getting cakes out in one piece for years until I finally listened to the “experts”.  Big duh!

Bake for 20-25 minutes at 350.

Run a sharp knife around the edges to be sure the cake is completely loose on the sides. Turn out on racks to cool.  Remove paper.

I very rarely make just one recipe of this cake.  I usually double it and bake in 3-10″ cake pans.

After making this cake for years, it dawned on me one day that I could make an orange cake from a mix that is very, very close to this but sturdier and  a bit lighter.  Here’s what I do:

1 white or vanilla cake mix

1 pkg. of cheesecake instant pudding

1/2 cup orange juice

1 teaspoon orange rind/zest

1/2 cup oil

4 egg whites

1 cup sour cream

You can beat the egg whites separately, as in the first recipe..or not.  Time usually dictates this for me!

This recipe will make 3-9″ cakes.  Using the 9″ cake pans with the Orange Butter Filling will make a small but nice sized cake. But not for this bunch.

I usually double this and use the 10″ pans. What can I say?  This goes FAST!!!

Now for the filling, the best part and if you’re smart you’ll make this  by the gallon!

Orange Butter Filling

Mix 1 cup sugar, 4 1/2 Tablespoons  flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt in a medium saucepan.  Gradually stir in 1   1/2 cups of orange juice and  1/2 cup water.

image

Place over medium-low heat, stirring constantly and bring to boil. Remove from heat.

Stir in half of the hot mixture into the 4 beaten egg yolks, stirring quickly to temper the eggs.  Then pour that back into the other half of the hot mixture and stir quickly.  Bring to a boil over LOW heat for 1 minute. Remove from heat.

image

Blend in 1/2 cup real butter (not margerine) and 1 Tablespoon orange rind.

image
image

Cool in the fridge until really thick.  Then spread between the layers of cake and then use the remaining to spread on the top and sides of the cake.  Refrigerate to set the filling.

This is one recipe that I haven’t fiddled with.  I stay true to the recipe.  Other than when I double it.  Or triple it.

So now you have your cooled filling.  Spread about 3 big spoons of the filling on the first layer. Top with another layer, slather on some more filling.  Top that with more filling and crown it all with the 3rd layer.  With the leftover filling, spread over the top and sides of the cake.  Refrigerate until you’re ready to cut the cake. I like it not too cold but right out of the fridge is good too.  I store it covered in the fridge.

*Note: the cake and filling are fantastic in lemon too!!  You’ll have to fiddle with the filling a bit.  Because lemons have rep for being undependable, I add lemon juice as I make the filling. That means I taste test as I go. Sometimes I don’t get it right until it’s cooked.  Remember!  You can always add a bit more but if you get too much lemon juice in…well, good luck.  For the cake, just use a lemon cake mix and bake it as mentioned above but don’t try to add lemon juice to it like you do the orange cake.  Again…too much lemon IMHO!!

Another variation could be to fill the cake as per instructions then frost it with your favorite cooked frosting.  Maybe even the Brown Sugar frosting I posted a while back???

image
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fresh Orange Cake Heaven, here we come! Take 2

  1. prue batten says:

    Oh-my-gosh! This is a keeper!!!! Debbie, thank you! By the way – made a batch of the choc chip cookies today. They and their partners, the hazelnut choc chip cookies with a melted chocolate hat and a scatter of icing sugar, are a staple in our house. 😉

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      You’re welcome! Believe me…you will LOVE this cake. I also do cupcakes, squirt the filling into the middle of the cupcake and then plop a spoon full on top. I store them in the fridge covered…IF any are left!!! Also you can bake in 2 pans, then split/torte them. ANd now, I need to check to see if I have chocolate chips…

      Like

  2. Annie Vickery says:

    My hubby’s birthday is the 30th…you’ve just given me his birthday cake! 💖

    Like

  3. Fancy Nancy says:

    Would be nice if your readers would join Pinterest, you wouldn’t have to repost recipes! Your Pinterest pin is perfect! But of course, if we happen to miss the post it is nice that you show it twice! Thanks for sharing, again!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      It’s really no bother. THere’s a special function on WordPress that copies an entire post with one click!! I’ve found it’s also good to repost at Pinterest as that audience changes daily. Right now, the orange cake and the Pigs in the Mud cake are running neck and neck, followed closely by the K State stadium cake and Peach Cobbler.

      Like

  4. Laura says:

    I would love to have your strawberry cake recipe

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      I cheat. Yeah I know. I just buy a strawberry flavored cake mix and add to it like I do the Fast Orange Cake…add Cheesecake instant pudding, 3 eggs, 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup water, 1 cup sour cream. It’s cheesecake pudding that makes it SOOOO yummy. Be careful NOT to overbake!

      Like

Leave a Reply

