God Bless Scotland!

Scotland has always held me spellbound.  No idea why…until I discovered Scottish roots in my family through my genealogical research.  Maybe that’s why I was always drawn to anything Scottish!?

One of the these days, I’m going to Scotland.  Sometime. Somehow.  In the meantime, the closest I can get to that bonny country is to whip up some Orange Scones.

God bless the Scottish baker who came up with scones.  We should erect a memorial in their memory.  I LOVE SCONES!

Orange scone

And, for me, scones are new love.  Where was I all those years that scones were being pulled out of hot ovens and scarfed down with a hot cup of coffee?!!  I missed out on so much!

But I’m making up for lost time.  And my waistline proves it…if you could find a waistline on me!

The original recipe came from The Pastry Affair…I adjusted a couple of things and came up with a scone that is comparable to Panera’s Orange Scones…which is where I discovered my first Orange Scone!  Holy cow!  It was love at first bite!  These things are seriously mouth-worthy and literally melt…in…your…mouth.

Orange scone

Orange Scones
Adapted from The Pastry Affair blog

1 3/4 cup flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 cup white sugar
Zest of 1 orange
Pinch of salt
5 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into small chunks
1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
1/4 cup sour cream
1 egg
1 tablespoon milk
Preheat oven to 400 º.
In a large mixing bowl, whisk flour, baking powder, sugar, orange zest, and salt. Add the butter using a pastry tool and blend until the mixture is crumbly with pea-sized chunks.

Orange scone

 

Stir in the orange juice and sour cream until just blended. Be careful to not overmix so the scones will be tender and not tough.
Roll scones into a ball and flatten slightly on a lightly floured board and pat to a 8″ circle, 3/4″  thick . With a sharp butcher knife, cut the circle into 8 wedges. Place onto a baking pan or cookie sheet sprayed with non stick spray or greased with butter/shortening.  Allow 1″ between each scone wedge.

Whisk together the egg and milk and brush over the top of the scones. Let scones rest for 10 minutes before baking.
Bake for 14-17 minutes or until the tops are lightly browned.

Orange Glaze

3 Tablespoons melted butter

1 cup powdered sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

3-5 Tablespoons fresh orange juice

1 Tablespoon orange zest

 

Whisk together until smooth.  Either dip the tops of each scone into the glaze or drizzle over the cooled scones.

If there are any left, store in an airtight bag or container.  Nuke them at high for 5-8 seconds and WHAM, they’re just like fresh out of the oven!!  ENJOY!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to God Bless Scotland!

  1. I too have a high percentage of Scottish ancestry and love scones. I have an oat scone that I make and serve with clotted cream in true British style.
    Hey, maybe we are related somewhere back in time.

    Like

  2. Dianne says:

    Try freezing the butter and grating it on the largest hole on a box grater. Makes great biscuits and I’ll bet will improve the scone. I’m leaving on a British Isles cruise on August 1. Scotland and Ireland are on my bucket list.

    Like

  3. heartfelt4 says:

    My dream vacation, too! *sigh*

    Like

Leave a Reply

