Brilliant Car Washing Technique

Not really.  A car wash is a car wash.  In my case…a truck wash.

It was very difficult to figure out if my pickup was brown…ish.  Or maybe beige with touches of sienna sprinkled here and there.

In real life, it was white, once upon a time.  But living in the country perks slap you in the face when you come terms with the fact that your vehicles will NEVER stay clean.  Yeah, they can BE clean. Until you go home.  Then it’s over.  Fast.

Recently, I was in The City eating a bite of lunch, when I looked out the window and I almost needed sunshades!  The flashing brightness of chrome bumpers, sparkly windshields and shiny, SHINY paint jobs nearly knocked me out of my booth.  And that’s when I knew that Country had completely done its number on me.  How many folks are amazed at clean vehicles?  Well I was.

So, after a winter’s worth of mud, snow, ice, salted roads, manure mud (yes, there is a difference) my Chevy needed some tender loving WASHING!! Desperately!

As I pulled into the washing stall, I grabbed a $5 bill to get quarters of the little machine thingy. And that’s when I came to a screeching halt.

True, unadulterated, pure beauty sat parked at the vacuum stall.  THE Holy Mother of All Old Cars sat there glowing like a second sun!!!

1957 Ford Fairlane Sunliner

A Ford Fairlane Sunliner.

Ford Fairlane Sunliner

I’m pretty sure I stopped on a dime with my mouth open for a while.  Then I was able to gasp, “I don’t believe it!!!”.

image

I argued with myself for about 5 seconds on whether to go over and converse with the owners, a couple about my age.  I got over my hesitation fast and headed over to ask what the year was on their beauty.  They shared that it was pretty much pristine when they bought a few years ago and were out for a spin on gorgeous Friday afternoon.

In the course of the conversation, I made mention that my Daddy had 1963 Ford Fairlane…white with a red stripe.  Daddy loved that red stripe!  And chrome.  Chrome was important!

1965 Ford Fairlane 500

And I stated that my True Dream Car is a 1966, 67 or 68 baby blue Mustang convertible. I am not picky!

1966 Ford MustangSidenote: the friend who promised me a Mustang when they win the lottery has NOT come through to date.  Just so you know.

Another sidenote: This Ford loving Democrat married into a Chevy loving Republican family. Take about culture shock.

Now my True Dream to be added to my Bucket List is to just RIDE in a convertible.  Owning one comes in way down the list.  I can’t believe I just said that.  Honestly, if you have a Mustang you want to get off your hands, you can donate it at 888-Thanks!

After asking permission to snap a few photos, I had to get back to the task at hand.

No, this post wasn’t a How To Wash piece.  Car washing isn’t a fine art.  Although I have learned that if your live in Kansas, you MUST determine which way the eternal wind is blowing that particular day so you can work in that direction.  Working against the wind is a catastrophe in the making. Especially, if you have good clothes on and just got your hair done.  Trust me on this.

Turning around and looking at my poor old nasty-looking, used-to-be-white Chevy, I started the pre-wash.  And really…I was thankful I had that truck. First on my list of To Dos in The City was to pick up some really large tables for our church.  Can’t haul those in a Mustang or a Fairlane, now can you?

This entry was posted in Antiques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brilliant Car Washing Technique

  1. JP says:

    Well, you might not be able to haul tables in a Mustang but you could fill the pews with the folks that followed in droves behind that blond bombshell, er, grandma in the blue Mustang

    Like

  2. Dianne says:

    My son, JT, owns the baby blue mustang GT convertible. Come down and we’ll go for a spin. That mustang is the reason I didn’t get grandkids until he was 42. Too busy playing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

