Sargeant, the Farm Dog

English Spring Spaniel, puppyThis is Sargeant, better known as Sarge.  He is our new puppy.  He’s an English Springer Spaniel, which is a favored breed around here.  We are adjusting, as is he.  Having to remember potty time is a bit of a pain but I remember. Eventually.  Sarge leaves reminders if I don’t.  So far, besides being underfoot constantly, his favorite place is my rocking chair on the back porch.  Every time I put him out to potty, I come to retrieve him later and there he is…King of the Rocker.

It’s be quite a few years since we had a doggy friend.  And it’s nice to have one around again.  Well, we have visiting doggy friends...Mo for one and a couple of renegades who are rescues who may need rescuing again if they don’t stop chasing cattle at the feedyard.  Big Boss has just about reached his limit on bent iron fences and upset cattle! Sarge likes feet, especially at nap time and he really likes dead bugs but does NOT like above mentioned doggy friends.  At all.  He yelps and hollers at the sight of them even if they’re a ways off.

OK, enough puppy talk.  Just wanted to catch you people up on the critters around here. Plus one puppy, minus a couple or so of rabbits and squirrels.  Hoping the addition of said pup scatters our deer visitors to kingdom come.  Won’t hold my breath tho.

This entry was posted in farm and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sargeant, the Farm Dog

  1. Rachael Herring says:

    Beautiful puppy!

    Like

  2. Gail says:

    I grew up with an English Springer Spaniel, he was the most wonderful dog I had my entire life. He was my friend, my companion, my hero, my ear when I needed to talk.. I miss him always, They are wonderful. Mine was SIR Lance Sir lot.

    Like

  3. Fancy Nancy says:

    Yes, what a beautiful pup! You remember the litters of puppies had by Midnight (was she the King’s dog or Bob and Kitty’s?)? Oh I remember those soft, sweet things and the hours that we would play with them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

