The Big Boom and Sunday Cakes

I thought about doing a Cake Wreck post a la their “Sunday Sweets”.  Their Sundays, as opposed to all other day where “wreckie posts” rule the day, Sunday Sweets feature truly amazing cakes.  Yes, even I have appeared on Sunday Sweets!  Amazing huh?!!

I think this will be a Catch Up Sunday.  Lots has been going on here, and lately a few cakes.  Actually, the end of March begins my official cake season.  Birthdays every month until August, with several in some of the months.

Adding to the confusion/chaos/celebrating is a wedding, of which I swore I was done with BUT a dear friend requested a small cake for her wedding and heck, who was I to say no to such a joyous occasion?!!!

But I’m getting ahead of myself and instead should be looking backwards. To March specifically.  Granddaughter #1 asked for a “painted cake” for which requires a fondant finish instead of buttercream.  Of course, I thought we could adapt for buttercream cake.  And we did but not with the exact finish as the picture showed.

 

 

Nonetheless, Jess and I had fun doing it and spent last Saturday afternoon putting the finishing touches on her birthday cake!  I plan to hand over the cake decorating to her one day.  She’s got the touch!!

I spent this week, on and off, working on a football field cake.  Grandson #5 chose this gem and it’s taken me a while to figure out how to maneuver this one.

 

I did my first chocolate molding.  It wasn’t as difficult as I thought, but I have much to learn!!

Getting the cake top as level and smooth as possible was a challenge, so I topped the cake with green fondant and cut out the white lines using sheet sugar from Wilton, which is not especially easy to cut, but was the only way I could come up with to get straight, flare, even lines.

The numbers came from a “Tappit”-like mold that’s super easy to use.  Cake Stuff in Wichita mailed them lightening quick, along with the  plastic goalposts.  I repainted them in coordinating colors as this was to be a Hodgeman County football cake!

I found the footballs on the sides of the cake at WalMart!  The stars are made with scrapbooking paper punchers.  I roll fondant with a little Tylose powder real thin, let it dry out just a bit then insert into punches and carefully lay them out to dry.  Easy peasy! They’re glued onto florist wire with a dab of royal icing. They dry in about 15 mins.

Once was assembled, I poked a hole into the middle of the cake (argghh) and inserted the chocolate football.  I was worried about the football tipping, but since it’s hollow, it stayed put. So far.

 

And when Big Boss saw the finished product (he was appalled that I was sticking a football into the middle of the football field) he said, and I quote…”Big Boom”.

There you have it.

This entry was posted in cakes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Big Boom and Sunday Cakes

  1. Stacy says:

    Look fantastic! Job well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

