Recipe Saturday: Quick and Easy Breakfast

Breakfast Casserole

Yes, I know it’s Sunday.  Just let me pretend it’s Saturday.  I’m late!

Need something you can throw together ahead of time…something that you can make ahead, refrigerate then bake the next day?  This casserole is perfect.  And it’s very filling.  It also warms up great in the microwave the next day.

I’ve been making this breakfast casserole for years.  So far, I haven’t found anyone who doesn’t like it.  That or they were too nice to say so.

 Breakfast Casserole

6 eggs, slightly beaten

1 pound browned bulk/breakfast sausage

1 cup Bisquick

1 cup Cheddar cheese (we like sharp in this recipe)

2 cups of milk

1/2 teaspoon oregano

When you brown the sausage, drain the grease well. I spoon mine out on to a plate lined w/ a double thickness of paper towels and let it cool if I’m going to refrigerate the casserole and then bake the next morning.

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl.  I begin with the Bisquick, then add the milk and whisk the 2 till blended.  Add the rest of the ingredients, stir a bit.

With a paper towel, wipe shortening/butter on casserole dish or spray with a non-stick cooking oil to keep from sticking.  Pour in mixture and cover w/Saran wrap or foil.  Refrigerate overnight.  Bake at 350° for 50 minutes to an hour.  Serve hot w/biscuits, toast or whatever you like!

If you mix this up to bake for the AM, just throw it all into a bowl (you don’t have to cool the sausage)mix  and bake.  It’s that simple!  And often, I’ll brown sausage in double batches then package into 2 quart freezer bags and store them in the freezer.  Saves a lot of time when I’m in a hurry to get this dish on the table!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Recipe Saturday: Quick and Easy Breakfast

  1. phylly3 says:

    This looks great! I have one question….
    How many kilometers in 2 cups of “mile”?
    Tee-hee! I couldn’t resist teasing you. I assume you mean Milk? 🙂

    Like

  2. The Queen says:

    You are such a funny lady!! Yeah, spell check check it and evidently liked the way I spelled milk. I corrected one milk misspell already. And missed that one. I thank you. My mother thanks you. 🙂

    Like

  3. heartfelt4 says:

    I have tasted this quick and easy breakfast and it is scrumptious, indeed! Topped off with buttered homemade biscuits, apricot preserve, a slice or two of fresh sausage–Oh my goodness, it’s wonderful! ; )

    Like

  4. The Queen says:

    Why thank you Miz HF! Glad you enjoyed it. 😉

    Like

  5. JANICE W MARKLEY says:

    this looks just like what I’m needing for my networking breakfast. I will have 30 people. you didn’t say how many people you served but the picture looks like you were having way more than 6 people???

    Like

  6. Bee says:

    If you want to do this gluten free make bottom from shredded hash browns instead of the Bisquick .. works great!! Also tasty the next day warmed up!!.. ..

    Like

Leave a comment