Ornament a Day, Take 3

So…After spending the day shopping, Big Boss and I are worn out.  This shopping stuff isn’t as much fun as it used to be.

Don’t get me wrong…I love hunting down the perfect gifts.  But after about 1 hour, I’m ready to call it a day.  Put my feet up…feet that hurt BTW. Drink a nice, hot cup of coffee. Take a deep breath.  And relax. Wait.  We did all of those things.  Except for putting our feet up!

Yep, BB took me to the IMAX to see The Desolation of Smaug!!!  What a guy.  No review for now though!  That would require “thought” and I’m all out. Besides, I have MUCH to do…cookies to bake, junk to put up…like around 10 plastic bins that hold Christmas ointments…ornaments.  See?  I have to stop and think it through now thanks to my lovely relative!!

image

Speaking of ornaments…today’s entry is another creation from my mother. She sewed pretty much everything I wore as a child. Yeah, even underwear.   So she had lots of fabric leftovers to deal with. Therefore I have quilts that she made out of those scraps. And doll dresses that matched my dresses. And Christmas ornaments! 🙂

This one is made out of the remnants of my senior prom dress! Yes, it’s really THAT OLD! The material is a whole nuther story. I had an aunt and uncle who lived in Japan during my high school years, so as graduation drew near, my aunt sent me some beautiful silk brocade, woven in Japan. How lucky was I? And it was…BLUE!! Yay!! So Mother and I went to the drawing board to come up with a dress that we enough brocade for.

My floating opal once graced the bottom of this ornament but I decided that it needed to be a necklace again. See???  I repurposed the repurposed.

This entry was posted in holidays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Ornament a Day, Take 3

  1. Fancy Nancy says:

    Such a beautiful meaningful ointment! I don’t recall what I wore to that event or even if I went! 😳😁

    Like

Leave a comment