May Wheat Moment

I took this photo last Sunday at the wheat field by #2 son’s home…those straight spikey things are wheat beards aka awns and the oval green parts are baby wheat berries. Wheat here is usually harvested in June-July, depending on the specific variety and weather conditions.

Did you know?

That wheat was brought to the US by German Mennonite immigrants in Kansas…

That wheat can have beards. Or not…

That beards on wheat are also called awns…

That winter wheat is a hard wheat…

That winter wheat is used for grazing cattle and later, harvested…

That winter wheat is high in gluten which is important when you’re making bread products…

That winter wheat is planted in the fall, sprouts, goes dormant through the winter then maintains rapid growth the following spring, with harvest in the summer…

That wheat is used in the arts…

Wheat is grown on this farm in addition to corn. During droughts, the wheat has to be irrigated before it’s planted in order for germination to take place but is much less water-intensive than the corn.

This entry was posted in farm and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to May Wheat Moment

  1. bZirk says:

    I did not know that. That’s my Johnny Carson imitation 😉

    I don’t comment nearly enough, but I am enjoying your blog — especially these kinds of pieces. And a big thumbs up on the photos! Excellent, excellent, excellent photography. Did I mention I like the photographs? : D

    Like

  2. Melinda Strickland says:

    I remember riding a motorcycle (the one and ONLY time) through those wheat fields 30+ years ago! Beautiful! I need to come get some more wheat for fall arrangements/wreaths!

    Like

  3. The Queen says:

    I’ll save you some. After all, I’d think we’re due another visit after 30 years!!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Wheat Harvest 2012 « Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Country Life

Leave a comment