The Day After

and, it’s up again!! (You wouldn’t believe how many flag poles we’ve gone through the past 30 years!! I was sure this one was demolished last night, but the boys fixed it!)

Have I used that title before?  Maybe.  But this really could be sequel to the movie “The Day After”…remember that old TV movie?  Yep, that one..Jason Robards, postapocalyptic/nuclear war. Except it was 60-110 MPH winds taking things apart.  And hail and rain.  I’m not sure I’ve seen a storm like this.  BB and I were once in a TX storm with 100 MPH winds.  Many moons ago.  Last night’s storm was nastier.  I really thought my north windows were goners!  And I have NO idea how large the hail stones were.  I just plain couldn’t see them for the storm itself.

The electric company guys were at it all night, with power returning around 3 AM.  Bet they sleep good tonight.

First thing this AM, I had to run into town to deliver some Miracle Whip jars to a former student.  Weird?  Probably, but he’s the Art Production Manager or something like that for the movie “Rabid Love”.  Can you believe it?  A movie right here in our little town, pop. 300 counting all the country folk!!?  Yep, the producer is the grandson of a resident (and a distant cousin of BB’s) so filming began this week.  My former student needed some props so I was called, along with many others, for HELP!!!   He provided the 1980’s vintage jars, complete with labels and lids.  I had to figure out how to make them look like they’re full of Miracle Whip, using something that is non-perishable.

Our first thought was coating the jars with frosting, but decided that could go bad, eventually.  So, I tried latex house paint.  Tinted it to match my recently purchased Miracle Whip and darned if it doesn’t look real.  That project was completed Tuesday and I left the fan blowing on them to hurry and dry the paint.  I delivered them this AM, met the distant cousin, the cute little props gal and watched a bit of the action. 

 Then I headed out to check on my boys’ homes and the church.  Thankfully no damage was found other than lots and lots of leaves and limbs down.  Our church “neighbors” were already cleaning up the church grounds!!  Isn’t that nice?  One of the perks of small town life!! The cornfields are looking pretty beat up and some of the wheat is pounded literally into the ground.  We lost at least 1 pivot and had some damage to out buildings but nothing horrible.   “Pivot” translates into a giant sprinkler that “pivots” from a central point.  They can be controlled and monitored from a smart phone now!  How cool is that?!

Grandkids are coming later to help me clean up here.  Thank goodness.  The thought of picking up kazillions of downed baby apples, apricots, pears and peaches was daunting.  Where do you start?  Well, you just start. And hopefully, someone will show up to lend a helping hand!!!

Apple tree as it appeared this morning…click on the photo to enlarge it so you can see the kazillions of apples on the ground. Ugh!

But….the good news is, kazillions are STILL on the tree. I think that’s good news. Means lots of apple butter this fall.

A dream come true…kids who know how to work. And WILL work!! Even better!

This entry was posted in farm and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Day After

  1. Teuchter says:

    Relieved to know that you are all safe and well. I love when you explain things you write about. I seem to learn amazing stuff like what a “pivot” is and the fact that it can be controlled by a smart phone. Technology!!!

    I even dabbled in a bit of it myself recently when I discovered how to change my Region 1 DVD player to make it region-free. It was laughably simple and I was shocked at myself, not only that I was able to do it but that I had the nerve to do it!! I had to call #1 son to tell him and he laughed and said, “You techy you!!” Now I am having a bit of an RAfest watching all related British DVD’s that arrived in my mail box this week!! Such fun! 😉

    BTW – can any of the blown-down fruit be put to use – cattle feed e.g.??

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      Wow, I’m impressed! Haven’t taken the leap yet. Would like to have joined in on the N&S Watch this weekend but way too many things going on at my house!!!! No, the blown down fruit has to be tossed. Too little and green for anything but an upset tummy. And if you don’t get it off the ground, you encourage disease and insects. Bummer.

      Like

  2. I’m glad you’ve survived the storm in one piece. I grew up on an island so I’ve experience 100 + mph winds several times during hurricanes, but it’s scary each time! You have good neighbors. Did Steve pull through? Bless your sons and grandkids for helping mee-maw!

    Hi Teuchter! I couldn’t help eves dropping on your “changing the dvd player to region free’ conversation. Someone explained how to do it years ago and I saved the info but never tried it. Does it involve using secret codes, lol? Or is it something simple? Just thought I’d ask! Thanks!

    Like

    • The Queen says:

      He did but they had damage out there again! No as bad as the last tornado tho.

      The region free thing, as it has been explained to me, can also be viewed on your computer. Not as convenient as the TV but still possible. If secret codes are involved, it’s way beyond me!!

      Like

  3. Myna says:

    Glad all of you escaped with minimal damage!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Legenda 30: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

Leave a comment